Children of the Sea: Blu-ray/DVD Collector's Edition



Adapted from the manga by author Daisuke Igarashi, which won the Excellence Prize at the Japan Media Arts Festival, Children of the Sea is the latest feature from Japan’s STUDIO4°C (known for Tekkonkinkreet, Mind Game, Animatrix, Batman: Gotham Knight and others). Directed by Ayumu Watanabe, the film features a score by award-winning composer and longtime Studio Ghibli collaborator Joe Hisaishi ( Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, My Neighbour Totoro ).


Synopsis: When Ruka was younger, she saw a ghost in the water at the aquarium where her dad works. Now she feels drawn toward the aquarium and the two mysterious boys she meets there, Umi and Sora. They were raised by dugongs and hear the same strange calls from the sea as she does. Ruka’s dad and the other adults who work at the aquarium are only distantly aware of what the children are experiencing as they get caught up in the mystery of the worldwide disappearance of the oceans’ fish.

On The Discs

On the discs: Includes the film with both English and original Japanese with English subtitles viewing options.

On-Disc Extras

On disc extras: 

  • Intro at Animation is Film
  • Directing Children of the Sea
  • Animation Breakdown
  • Interview with Composer Joe Hisaishi
  • Japanese Cast Interview
  • Art Gallery
  • Selected Storyboards
  • Turep - Looking for Children of the Sea
  • Studio 4C Makes a Meal
  • Making of the Poster
  • Trailers
Packaging and Physical Contents

Packaging and Physical Contents: Comes packed in a rigid case. Inside that is an digipack to hold the Blu-ray & DVD discs.

Also included is a 68-page booklet featuring a special talk with Ayumu Watanabe (director) & Daisuke Igurashi (Original manga creator); a bio on STUDIO4°C, a review of the film and comments from
•members the Japanese cast
•Ayumu Watanabe (Director)
• Kenichi Konshi (Character designer/chief animation director/technical director)
•Shinji Kimura (Art director)
•Kenichiro Akimoto (CGI director)
•Kotaro Hirano (CGI)
•Miyuki Ito (Colour Coordinate)
•Koji Kamatsu (Sound director)
•Masataka Aoki (Animation producer)
•Erio Tanaka (Producer)
•Joe Hisaishi (Music)
•Daisuke Igurashi (Original manga creator)
•Keiko Fukuyama (manga artist)


Product Details

Product Details

Release Date: 08/03/2021   

BBFC: 15                              

Audio: English, Japanese
Subtitles: English

Format: Blu-Ray+DVD  

No. of discs: 2                

Region: B | 2                        

SRP: £34.99

NOTE: This is a Limited Edition product not exclusive to any one retailer. Once it appears as out-of-stock we do not expect there to be more stock available.

Not ordered from us before? Read our F.A.Q. HERE

All orders (including pre-orders) at require immediate payment. Please see F.A.Q. for more details.

Subscribe to our newsletter

The latest news, articles, and resources, sent to your inbox weekly.

© 2020 Anime Ltd. All rights reserved.